Do you think that someone should be holding governments, politicians and big companies to account?

Should there be an informed, intelligent and transparent media that looks out for citizens’ rights and interests?

Does the control of much of the media – old and new – by a handful of unaccountable owners worry you?

If you’ve answered yes to any of these, you should join The Ferret.

Ad-free and owned only by our writers and readers, The Ferret is an independent, not-for-profit, cooperative that reports on the truth behind the spin.

And our stories have impact. They are often followed up by other media, as well as policy makers in Holyrood, Westminster and further afield.

In our first year we’ve already broken major environmental, human rights and surveillance stories and been nominated for awards.

We want to do more, but we can only do this with your help. Join us now.

Your subscription options

 Monthly FerretAnnual
Unlimited access to stories
Unlimited access to source material
Exclusive email alerts
Supporters Forum
Transparency reports
Vote on key editorial and management decisions
Full text RSS feed access
Discounted VPN offers
3 extra gift subscriptions to share
Cost£3 per month

Equivalent to £3 per month.
£30 per year

Equivalent to £2.50 per month.
From £96 per year

Equivalent to £2 per month per subscription.
Subscribe Subscribe Subscribe

If you just want to comment on a story, or take part in the discussion in our community forum, you can also sign-up for our free community membership.

As community membership is free, you will still be restricted to viewing three premium stories per month, and you will not become a member of The Ferret Media Ltd.

If you subscribe, as well as access to all our stories, you also become a part owner of the project, and get:

  • The knowledge that you’re supporting independent, not-for-profit, public interest journalism.
  • The knowledge that you are supporting ethical journalism that meets high standards.
  • Discounted access to events organised by The Ferret.
  • Access to the Subscribers-only area in our community forum.
  • The chance to stand for election to The Ferret board of directors.
  • The security in knowing we’ll never sell your personal details to advertisers.

You can find out more about The Ferret here.

If you decide not to become a subscriber, then you will be limited to viewing 3 stories per month on The Ferret.

Thank you.

We’d like to extend a huge thank you to everyone listed below, who supported us during our original crowdfunding campaign, as well as our growing list of subscribers, and also donors who wished to remain anonymous.

Without your support The Ferret would not be possible.

These are some of the Ferrets who have supported us so far:

Platinum FerretPlatinum Ferrets: Lap Gong Leong, Carol Martin, Bill McGuire, Matthew Pemble

Gold FerretGold Ferrets: 1949Van, B Allaway, Jude Barber, Neil Barton, Steve Bird, Alan Bonnyman, Paul Cairney, Jane Cotton, William Coull, K Dunion, Barfil Farm, Bill Harkes, Pete Kingsley, Euan Leitch, Val McDermid, Eamon O’Connor, David MacDonald, John McDonald, Shaun Milne, Lesley Reid, Fiona Riddoch, Scott Sandison, Liam Soutar, Will, Paul Wood

Silver FerretSilver Ferrets: Marc Ellison, Per Fischer, Clive Gillman, David Gow, Ian Hepburn, J Hesketh, Lisa Mack, Calum McKay, Elsa Munro, Jillian Reilly, William Thomson, Sanne van den Bergh, Susan Watts, Rich Welsh, Leslie Wilson

Bronze FerretBronze Ferrets: Catalina Albeanu, Alison Balharry, Marie Brown, Laura Christie, Rohan Cragg, John Cunningham, Deborah Curcher, Ross Day, Karen Dietz, Fiona Duncan, Gillian Easson, Ian Fraser, Audrey Garvie, Jess Gildener, Liz Glass, Kenneth Gray, Douglas Greenshields, J T Hesketh, Hilary Horrocks, Morag Jones, Tessa Jones, Jenny Kumar, Andrew Learmonth, Murray Macadam, AK Mackinnon, Katherine Mackinnon, Alex Massie, Fraser MacDonald, Edd McCracken, Alan McCredie, Lesley Midd, James Newbery, Suzi Nicol, Jo Norcup, Lesley Pearson, Linda Perttula, Mike Press, Sue Robertson, Andrew Richards, Jamie Taylor, Barry Basil Turnbull, Nora Uhrig, Pauline Ward, Tom Warren, Lynn Welsh

Honorary FerretHonorary Ferrets: Kat Affleck, Mary Alexina, Neil Ash, Alison Barclay, Greg Barr, Claire Biddles, Phil Chamberlain, Barry Chapman, Tom Dalton, H Dowzall, Kieran Forbes, Alison Gilchrist, Hilary Grant, Martin Hamilton, Gordon Hayden, Alex Ingram, Sam Kerr, Amanda Lichtenstein, Becky Luff, Stuart MacDonald, James Mackenzie, Catriona MacPhee, Lyra McKee, Gordon Menzies, Emma Miller, Matthew Parsons, Lena Phalen, Claire Yvette Roger, Robert Sanders, Amy Saunders, Alex Shaw, Kenny Stewart, Denise Strohsahl, Gabrielle Vaughan, Andy Wightman

DonorOther donors: Derek Bateman, Carron Beaumont, James Bisset, Nick Brand, Lucinda Broadbent, Isabella Browning, Kew Campbell, Lynne Crook, J B Cunningham, Mark Daly, Christopher Donohue, David Eyre, Jenny Fish, Bill Frew, P A Gallagher, Karin Goodwin, Diarmuid Griffin, Jamie McKenzie Hamilton, Claire Harkins, James Hunter, Auraengus Kenchington, Ewan Kennedy, Brian Kupris, Euan Leitch, Craig Liddle, Alison Mack, Jean Mackenzie, Graeme MacOtter, Iain Macwhirter, Tim Maguire, Indira Mann, J Marshall, Gary Martin, Lorna McAllister, Maureen McCluskey, Isabel McCue, Gregg McDonnell, Andrew McFadyen, Neil McGuire, K B Middlemiss, Jill Mirran, Seana Moore, Peter Murray, C E Murtagh, Hugh Odling-Smee, Julie Osborne, Morag Parnell, Neil Riddell, Billy Sangster, Kevan Shaw, Alexis Sutherland, Juliet Swann, Carol Taylor, Andrew Tickell, Helen Trainor, Neil Urquhart, Jillian Watt, Bronwen Whitney, Marjan Van De Weg, C S Wheeldon, George D White, Alex Wilde, H Wosu, Allan Young

Subscriber FerretSubscriber supporters include: Claire Connachan, Patrick Grey, Caroline McManus

If you are a subscriber, or have donated to The Ferret, but are not listed here and would like to be, it may be that you didn’t send us your name – if so, please let us know and we can add you. If you are a Ferret subscriber and would like to be names as a subscriber supporter also do get in touch.